Premier Forum Africain sur la formation professionnelle

Workshop 5
Supporting the development of professions facing the challenges of climate change in Africa

DAKHLA

21-22 DEC

OBJECTIVES OF THE WORKSHOP


In view of the challenges facing the vocational training sector in terms of adapting training to the skills required for the transition to a low-carbon economy, it is worthwhile launching discussions around the topic” Supporting the development of professions facing the challenges of climate change in Africa “.

During this workshop, speakers will present the experiences in their respective countries, the lessons learnt and the future prospects. The workshop aims at:

  • agreeing on a common understanding of climate change professions;
  • collecting and sharing relevant information and opinions on the state of professional skills related to occupations in connection with climate change as well as ongoing policies and programs that contribute to strengthening these skills;
  • identifying priority actions to improve and adapt the skills offer to the needs of the job market in terms of professions related to climate change;
  • identifying avenues of action that would enable vocational training systems in African countries to adapt their training offer to the requirements of climate change;
  • identifying bilateral and / or multilateral partnership projects for the development of South-South cooperation in this area.

PATHWAYS TO BE EXPLORED


This topic will be tackled through the following main lines of reflection as main centerpieces for debate:

  • Are these new emerging professions that need to be defined in terms of profile, type and characteristics, or just a modification of the profile of existing professions for there may or may not be a training offer?
  • What are the strengths and weaknesses of skills production systems in terms of adaptation and responsiveness in relation to changes in professions in general and those related to climate change in particular?
  • What are the commitments made by the countries to reinvigorate these systems to enable the skills of the existing professions (greening) to be adjusted and the assessment of new professions and associated skills brought in by the emerging value chains?



Forum

Social media

Follow-us

Premier Forum Africain sur la formation professionnelle

Atelier 5
L’accompagnement au développement des métiers face aux défis du changement climatique en Afrique

DAKHLA

21-22 DEC

OBJECTIFS DE L’ATELIER


Au regard des défis que doit relever le secteur de la formation professionnelle en terme d’adaptation des formations aux compétences exigées par la transition vers une économie à « bas Carbone », il est opportun d’engager un débat sur la thématique de «L’accompagnement au développement des métiers face aux défis du changement climatique en Afrique ».

Lors de cet atelier, les intervenants vont exposer les expériences conduites dans leurs pays respectifs, les enseignements retenus et les perspectives. L’objectif étant de :

  • s’entendre sur une compréhension commune des métiers liés au changement climatique ;
  • recueillir et partager des informations et avis pertinents sur la situation des compétences professionnelles en lien avec les métiers liés au changement climatique ainsi que les politiques et programmes en cours qui concourent au renforcement de ces compétences ;
  • repérer des actions prioritaires d’amélioration et d’adaptation de l’offre des compétences aux besoins du marché de l’emploi en matière de métiers liés au changement climatique ;
  • identifier des pistes d’actions, de nature à permettre aux systèmes de formations professionnels des pays africains d’adapter leur offre de formation aux exigences liées au changement climatique ;
  • dégager des projets de partenariat bilatéral et/ou multilatéral pour le développement de la coopération Sud-Sud dans ce domaine.

PISTES DE REFLEXION


Cette thématique sera abordée à travers les principales pistes de réflexion suivantes qui constitueront les axes du débat :

  • S’agit-il de nouveaux métiers émergents qu’il convient de cerner le profil, la nature et les caractéristiques? Ou plutôt d’un aménagement du profil de métiers existants et pour lesquels existent ou non une offre de formation ?
  • Quels sont les forces et les faiblesses des systèmes de production de compétences en terme d’adaptation et de réactivité par rapport aux évolutions des métiers en général et à ceux liés au changement climatique en particulier ?
  • Quels sont les engagements pris par les pays pour redynamiser ces systèmes pour permettre l’ajustement des compétences des métiers existants (verdissement) et l’évaluation des nouveaux métiers et des compétences associées, induits par les chaînes de valeurs émergentes ?



Forum

Réseaux sociaux

Suivez-nous